RBI Deputy Governor Swaminathan to oversee six departments, including Supervision and Inspection

The newly appointed RBI Deputy Governor Swaminathan Ji will oversee the work of six departments, including Education, Consumer Protection, Supervision and Inspection.

A statement issued by the Reserve Bank of India said that besides these departments, the departments of Financial Inclusion, Development, Buildings and Rajpasha will be under its jurisdiction.

Prior to his appointment as Deputy Governor, he was the Managing Director of the State Bank of India (SBI).

Swaminathan took over as deputy governor on Monday. It is appointed for a period of three years.

The Reserve Bank of India now has four deputy governors – M. D. Patra, M. Rajeshwar, T.;

The last time an SBI executive was appointed as Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of India was in 2001, when Viba Kamsam was appointed as Deputy Governor from 1 July 2001 to 23 December 2003.